Indian Languages

The table below lists the 22 languages set out in the Eighth Schedule as of May 2008, together with the regions where they are used.

Language Family Speakers
(in millions, 2001)[71]
Hindi Indo-Aryan 422[73] Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan,Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand
Bengali Indo-Aryan, Eastern 83 West Bengal, Tripura, Assam, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Jharkhand[72]
Telugu Dravidian 74 Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Puducherry, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Marathi Indo-Aryan, Southern 72 Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu
Tamil Dravidian 61 Tamil Nadu, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Puducherry
Urdu Indo-Aryan, Central 52 Jammu and Kashmir, Telangana, Delhi, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh
Gujarati Indo-Aryan, Western 46 Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Gujarat
Kannada Dravidian 38 Karnataka
Malayalam Dravidian 33 Kerala, Lakshadweep, Puducherry
Odia Indo-Aryan, Eastern 33 Odisha
Punjabi Indo-Aryan, Northwestern 29 Chandigarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand
Assamese Indo-Aryan, North Eastern 13 Assam, Arunachal Pradesh
Maithili Indo-Aryan, Eastern 12 Bihar, Jharkhand
Santali Munda 6.5 Santhal tribals of the Chota Nagpur Plateau (comprising the states of Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha)
Kashmiri Indo-Aryan, Dardic 5.5 Jammu and Kashmir
Nepali Indo-Aryan, Northern 2.9 Sikkim
Konkani Indo-Aryan, Southern 2.5 Goa
Sindhi Indo-Aryan, Northwestern 2.5 Sindh (now Sindh in Pakistan)
Dogri Indo-Aryan, Northwestern 2.3 Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab
Manipuri (also Meitei orMeithei) Tibeto-Burman 1.5 Manipur
Bodo Tibeto-Burman 1.4 Assam
Sanskrit Indo-Aryan 0.01 Uttarakhand

Of the 22 official languages, 15 are Indo-Aryan, four are Dravidian, two are Tibeto-Burman, and one is Munda.